Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured Slip & slide

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by NoOrangeLeft, May 21, 2014.

1. This happened back in March. It was just before 8pm when I left the office, taking the same route I have been riding (almost) every weekeday for the past 4 years, down Dudley St and turning left on to Wurundjeri Wy.

As usual, I enter the corner (road surface here is notoriously uneven) at low speed. As usual, I entered on the right wheel track of the left lane (double-lane, one-way). As usual, I leant slightly towards the left. Everything was so familiar I felt like I could make this turn blindfolded. Everything was so familiar... except one thing: I didn't finish the turn and when I realised what had happened, I was on the ground and my bike was laying there 5 metres away from me.

Picked myself up, then I started to feel pain on the left side of my body as the shock started to recede. Picked up the bike, pushed it to the roadside. Tried to collect my thoughts and assess the situation:

Damage to bike: bent left foot peg, broken front left indicator, crooked handle bar.
    Damage to self: not-so-serious abrasions and bruises on left palm, wrist, and knee. (yes, with adequate gear on)
    End result: Bike repair $150 at E2W (Pete is a great bloke!). A trip to Alfred Hospital ER for check-up and x-ray ($0, covered by Medicare. Didn't go with TAC because of the $500+ excess). A visit to the police station to make a report. 3 days off work.