Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Size of bike by your bodyweight

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Removed_User_5, Aug 10, 2005.

1. hey guys Im new to this whole bike thing in fact I got my L test today.
    i was wondering if you can shed any light on getting the right bike depending on your size and weight.
    I got my heart set on a Honda VT250c. I been out and about and sat on a few but Ive yet to take it out on the road. hopefully come sunday i be out for a test drive.
    Some guys have said Im not big enough to hold a bike that size on the road. I only weigh nearly 70kg.......Im slim thats for sure.
    So if anybody pu there has a bike of simelar size maybe you can offer some advice.
    The VT250 feels solid and I like the size. I sat on some Virago's to but It didnt turn ma crank.

Any Vt250 riders out there who can offer some assistance.
    im new to Australia too and from Scotland so riding in Scotland is impossible due to summer only lasting for 4 days.......and thats a good one.

2. tartan, find a post from a guy called Haggis, (no prizes for guessing where he's from :) ), and send him a PM and discuss, as well as the other good advice you'll get, of course.

Dennis is a slightly built guy, rides pushbikes and stuff, and he's just bought a bike too and would be of help to you, I believe.

Oh, and Welcome to the Netrider Asylum, and our land of the long summer, God's gift to motorcyclists!!!
  3. VT250 would be perfect for you. Don't take any notice of the naysayers!!!
  4. Cricky! a VT250 is a small bike.

don't let the arse talkers get to you.

Height is generally more important then build. If your shortish as well the VT would be perfect.