Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sick CB400

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Jayce87, Sep 20, 2015.

1. I'm hoping for any ideas or advice regarding problems with my CB400 as I have been looking for common issues online and all I can find is there isn't any. Before we start I have very little mechanical knowledge to fix much. My CB is a 2009 with 13,500 Ks on the clock and I have done the last 1,500 since purchase and its 12,000 K service.
    I have done a few rides around 2 hours but last weekend on the ride up to Noojee about 100 ks in it started surging under power to me it feels like on an older bike with no/low fuel.
    I ended up trailering it home and did a little bit of tinkering and couldn't figure out any obvious issues, however when I had the tank off I thought a vacuum hose was off and I wasn't sure if this had happened whilst I was taking the tank off. So this week I went out riding again staying closer to home and same again about 1 hour into riding same again but worse so bad this time it would idle but even in neutral a quick hard rev would just die.

Anyway any ideas or information would be helpful, If you would like any more info just let me know.
  2. Oh also because I guess someone will ask i run 98 from a local servo when I can and only tend to fill up from well known servos when away from home.
  3. it's EFI not carby right?
    does it idle nicely when you are not giving throttle? but then dies under load or just neutral with throttle?
    can you very slowly increase rpm in neutral? if not, what rpm does it start dying?