Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should you buy a bike thats over 50,000 k's.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by banditbob, Oct 11, 2006.

1. I've come across a yamaha 250 zeal going at a very attractive price but its done just over 60,000 k's.

As a motorcycling newbie, i was wanting to know how big an issue this is. Are there likely to be a number of mechanical or performance problems within the first year? Also if its on 75000 k's by the time i wanna sell it...will the resale value be crapola by that stage?

The bike looks gr8 and its around 1-2000 dollars cheaper than most zeals out there.

So any ideas?
  2. If you're only using it for a learner, and it's priced that low then hey why not. You might want to get a mechanical check to make sure it's running ok though. It is a lot of ks for a 250, but it's not massively excessive and it's been priced accordingly.
  3. Sorry, i thought you said the bike was going for around $1000-$2000!! I'd be asking for a bit more off the price cause there's plenty of other Zeals out there worth paying an extra $1000 for.
  4. If it's been regularly serviced and hopefully not sufferred a bad drop, then you should be okay. What year is it? How long do you intend holding onto it for? It looks like you're only going to keep it for 10-15000 kays or so, yeah? A Yammy donk looked after at 60,000 should not be a problem at all. Budget for some top-end work i.e. tighten everything up and adjusted.
  5. When I bought my Hornet it had 54,000 on it (1998 Model, bought it in March '05)
    It hasn't missed a beat and just turned over 80,000 kms.
    Jap engines are bulletproof if you maintain the service intervals.....