Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I get a scooter?

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by curious, May 22, 2011.

1. Hi all I'm new to the Forum and need some advice.

I have a car and have had one for the last 10 years. For the last 5 months I have been working in the city (Perth) and although it's only 10kms from my place, it takes me 45 minutes to get there on time due to peak hour traffic. That was really starting to p*ss me off. And I need transport for work (I am a real estate agent) so I can't be without a car. Predominantly I will be showing apartments in the city during office hours and parking became a real pain in the bum for me.

SO - without having to get another license and just using the one that I have now, I can only operate a 50cc bike. I am NOT a bike enthusiast and the only reason I will be getting a scooter is purely for economical (saving fuel $) and practicality (can zip around more easily). So, will it be viable for a 10km commute to and from work and also around the CBD during office hours? What speed will a 50cc scooter go up to? Speed limits are 60kph on the main road to the city. Also, is it safe as I have heard many horror stories and don't want to die just yet. Any suggestions or ideas will be much appreciated :)

2. you are not an motorcycle enthusiast now -- but you will be soon :)
  3. you'll die. don't get one.
  4. For starters A 50cc (2 stroke) can hit 60ish standard or 70 with few mods - on the flat. If you have to go up any inclines a 50 will struggle.

A 125cc 4 stroke on the flat will maintain 80 happily all day, topping out around 100.

I could be wrong but the license test isn't very expensive? I know its more in some states but in nsw its ~75 bucks for preLearner course.