Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I do my own servicing? Essential Tools?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by alex92, May 29, 2010.

1. Im just getting started with bikes and I don't know all that much about them but I'm keen to learn. I don't have a great deal of time on my hands, and I'm not particularly mechanically minded but I'm a quick learner.

Just got an MC22 which is dry because the bike hasn't been ridden in 3 months, so obviously I just need to lube it up which is easy enough. If I decided to put a new chain on it, would you guys think it would be OK for me to do myself, or is this something it's better to just get a mechanic to do?

Because I know you need to break the old chain, cut the new chain to size, and then rejoin the new chain?

What about removing wheels, replacing brake pads, changing oil and oil filter, replacing seals and bearings etc..?

Also, what tools are essential for me to keep? My Dad's tool kit is useless so I might go buy a decent tool kit. Would Bunnings have what I require or would I need to go to a specific bike shop?

Also, do you guys recommend I invest in a stand? Just a rear stand or should I get front aswell?

Thanks alot
  2. Firstly welcome. I dont believe you've introduced yourself young'un?

Secondly, where are you?

Thirdly, as most of you posts are generally questions etc, I'd proberly be correct with most experienced forum users not giving much away (I may be wrong as I often am!)

Fourthly? I'd go and get a Haynes manual for your bike and year and have a gander. You'll find heaps of stuff you can do yourself.

ps. You've got a dry bike?
    How had it been stored? Had it been stored properly?
    You'd be very well advised to get it back on the road via a VERY good mechanic.