Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I cover the front brake lever when riding?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by normace, Feb 1, 2008.

1. Hey fellow netriders,

I've read some books that say you should cover the right break lever when you ride - just in case you have to make an emergency stop.

I just read a magazine article saying you shouldn't cover it.

I'm a newbie and I'm confused of what is best. So what's the go? There will be some conflicting opinions but that's good... :)

2. Not really no. I think you would if you were racing or riding motox, but i am pretty sure it would be a bad habit to get into for normal road riding.

You should be concentrating on riding along with all of your hand on the throttle until there comes a point where you need to 'set up' the brakes (applying just enough pressure on the brake levers to remove some of the slack - also compressing the suspension in a way that will assist further braking forces) from there you can squeeze on the brakes to an emergency stop without problem.
  3. In heavy traffic

When heading into intersections

When heading towards a car emerging from a driveway or side street...

Basically, for certain possibly threatening circumstances, it's prudent to setup and cover the brakes... BUT make sure you have you ebraking down pat so that it's not a panic grab of the lever.
  4. There is a particular intersection on my way to work that I cover the lever for. Its a major T that only has a give way sign (I have right of way).
    I just know that if I tbone a car someday it will be there :eek:
    In bad weather I actually ride a longer way to avoid it.
  5. I always have both the clutch and brake covered all the time.
  6. sometimes, depends.