Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I buy or not? CBR500RA Project

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by O_Rider, Jan 2, 2015.

1. I'm new to riding and looking to get a first bike. There's a Honda CBR500RA model that's a repairable write-off I'm looking at for 2.5k. Mainly cosmetic damages, such as scratches to most of the fairings. However, it's missing the right foot peg, as well as the foot brake (whole thing is completely gone). And the right muffler has a dent in it. Has no RWC or rego, basically, I'd have to go through the whole process to get it back on the road. Would it be worth it trying to fix it? Or should i just go straight and try to find a second hand one? As I'm new to bikes, I don't really know how much it'll cost to get the parts and fix it, still trying to figure out how extensive the internal damage is, according to the dealer it's only minor damage as mentioned above, nothing else was damaged.

I'm trying to figure out how much it'll cost to get the bike back on the road as I'm on a tight budget.

Note: For some reason, the right pedal and foot peg are on it (as well as that grey/silver metal plate on which the foot brake / peg is attached to, is also missing), but when I saw it in person, it wasn't. Apart from that, this is the exact bike that.
  2. I don't know what state you are in. This particular rule, law, whatever you want to call it, may change from state to state.

That bike looks to be less than 15 years old. If a bike or car that has been deemed a repairable write off is less than 15 years old, you cannot legally register it again.

I had two bikes written off in March 2014. Both were repairable and both were less than 15 years old. I scrapped one and the other is still sitting in my garage.