Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I Be Pissed Off?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Tnate, Nov 5, 2005.

1. Just a question about whether I should be pissed off, or if I'm going way over the top.

I took my bike to a mechanic the other day (in Camberwell, VIC) just to get a regular service. You know the deal. But when I was riding home, I noticed that my choke cable had been snapped, and was jsut hanging off the side of the bike. The plastic retaining nut that attaches the cable end to the handlebars has been literally snapped in half, and is unable to be reattached.

Now Im very new to riding, but I have been fixing cars for years. If a motor mechanic ever did this to me I would be spitting chips.

I called the guy back, and he gave me some story about how old cables get tired and sometimes need to be replaced.

That's all well and good, but to break it, and not tell me, and not even secure it for when I was to ride home (it was hanging literally out the side), and then tell me that a replacement will cost $70 really gets my goat.

So, should I bother going back to this bloke

2. well I'm new to riding too, but yeah I'd be pissed off

Bottom line, it wasn't like that when it went in for the service, so they have damaged your bike regardless of wear and tear etc

thats my thoughts anyway
  3. I think you just answered your own question, "if a motor mechanic ever....".