Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Should I be concerned about these vibrations?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by 500R, Jun 16, 2015.

1. hey guys,

I noticed quite a vibration coming from the seat when overtaking on the freeway traveling at above 100km/h.. i only noticed this when going above the limit on the highway which was just attempted twice. I was just curious if this is an issue the bike/engine has? Or because bike is relatively new? Or exhaust related? (ixil l3x hyperlow installed).

I'm a newbie and wondering if anyone has had a similar issue in the past or guide me in the right direction here to where the concern might be? This is not noticed when just sitting on 100km/h from memory. It will be due for its very first service in a few hundred kms... Thanks guys, any input would be appreciated :)
  2. hmmmm
    better not reply to this one
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. Have you looked around and under the seat to see if anything obvious is loose?
  4. Not that i saw.. battery seemed pretty secure. It was only noticed when at higher speed on 6th gear at 6-7k rpm?
  5. its ok. go for it :)
  6. What happened when you went above 7k? Bikes vibrate, it varies how much and when. You have nothing to worry about, then next thing you're tempted to worry about is probably nothing too.
  7. the strong vibrations from under the seat which was felt quite noticeably at the higher speed/rev range.. so this is normal due to the engine being worked hard and/or for the type of engine? (cbr500r)
  8. Bikes certainly have certain speeds and rev ranges they like to resonate at. Given its not affecting your control it shouldn't be anything to worry about.