Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by minimatron, Jul 23, 2006.

1. Hi All,

My first time here. I have been riding a 1983 Z250b for the past 18 months and am almost ready to upgrade to something bigger and better. Its been an interesting time, considering I had never ridden anything before this, but with the encouragement of my other half and some friends, I think I am doing ok.

The one thing which always gets me is the fact that I cant touch the ground with both feet. I am lucky at times to get two tippy toes on the road... if its flat!! It really knocks the confidance out of me. Oh and so does cornering... will I ever get that right??

Any suggestions on what I could upgrade to (up to a 600cc)? I am just under 5'3 and would love to touch the ground with both feet...it doesnt have to be flat foot.

Cheers, Thanks for listening. Will be posting my bike for sale soon to upgrade... Yeah!!! :grin:

2. If you don't have to sell your old Z, keep it. I would have kept my Z650 if I could have. the Z250 may not be worth too much at the moment, might be better to keep it as a spare bike. They are very cheap to run and wil last forever.
    As for newer bikes for the vertically challenged, someone will be along shortly. I would say a bigger Z, but that's just me! Cruisers seem to be the way to go for short limbed people.

Regards, Andrew.
  3. my old boss was a shorty and neither of hi feet touched the ground when he got his '03 R6. he just hung off one side at lights.

if it really worries you, go for a cruiser, very comfortable, low to the ground, and very very easy to handle and corner.