Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

shite scared

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by stanga169, Dec 21, 2008.

1. im a newbie who is booked in for l's on jan 4 and have purchased a honda 250 xl which is a trail bike which is road ridable and have been up bush on it a few times and the place where i work has 8 acres of grden/farmland to ride. i get comfortable with the bike and the way it handles and always seem to nearly come off or do by pushing my limits. i worry that i am maybe just not up to riding on the road, if i am coming off in the dirt where i dont get over 70 ks and i have knobby tires that grip in the dirt, how can i expect to handle being in traffic with all the things that i have to concentrate on and distractions. i am going to put the closest thing to slicks as i can on the bike as i will be riding 200 ks a week on the black stuff to and from work to help me grip better on the road but i am truely worried about whether it is for me . before my last off which was two days ago where i was coming down a hill in soft dirt bit to hard on the front break and when over the bars basically landed fully on my chest then nose(no safety gear at all which is stupid i know and have learnt from) was winded to all hell but still mangaged to get up and act like nothing was wrong before my mate rode along(funny how we do that) , i felt that i was coming along with my skills with handling my bike really well but now im not so sure. i think about it now and and relise that i relaxed way too much and it came back to bite me on the ass big time.

2. Take it slowly and practice your skills.