Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Shiny cruiser newbie

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by dishy, Feb 24, 2007.

1. Here I am, a new motorcycle rider. Many thanks to Netrider for helping me make choices and being a great source of information.

I haven't even got my learner's yet, but I already have my bike and gear. I found a deal that I thought was very good and hassle-free, so I bought her:

hyosung_250_2.

She's got registration until Jan 2008. One year old, with 2,700km on the clock. Not a single scratch, looks factory new. Was $4,900.

I've got a lot of experience as a car driver, and I'm a fairly experienced cyclist. So, I'm used to going out in heavy traffic on my bicycle. My learner's test is in two weeks from today.

I finally found a decent place to buy my riding gear from. The bike shops seemed to be a rip-off, and have a limited range of accessories. I guess that riding gear is just a source of extra profit-margin for them.

I also checked out the Gray's online auction (mentioned on Netrider) and other online stores for gear. What a joke! I'm very glad I didn't go near those.

But then I noticed "Brian's Bike Mart" in Ringwood. They have a great range of cheaper brands that often aren't found in the bike stores, but still seems as good as the more expensive gear. They also gave me a 10% netrider discount. The service was great, I got personal attention that I didn't get in bike stores, and the salesguy recognised the netrider membership card in an instant. I bought:

RXT full-face helmet
    RXT open-face helmet
    face-guard for open-face helmet
    Eyeride goggles
    Dririder gloves
    RJays boots
    Camel Bak hydrator

total: $450