Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Shifting up thru gears without using clutch

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Mithel, May 30, 2006.

1. I have been riding for six months, best time of my life - gonna be learning for the next 20 years, if i'm lucky.

Took my bike in for 12k service last week and the service manager, who is always offering riding tips and tricks, suggested next lesson was to try upshifting without using the clutch, easier on parts and smoother in ride, and less 'false neutrals' or bad changes.

I have been doing this for the last 4 days (i cross the city every day) and apart from the odd g'dunge from the learning experience find it is smoother. I have worked out that going from 1st to 2nd i need to feather the clutch, and have to be less gentle in making the shift (had it slip out on 2 occasions).

I don't know any "oracle" riders as yet, present company excluded, and those i do know either don't ride any more or are as green as i am. I am looking for advice on the pluses and minuses of this practice. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. I do it all the time, except from 1st to 2nd, which still really needs a clutch.
    Occasionally when riding slowly I'll feather the clutch slightly for higher gears, but that's mainly 'cause it's a twin (a bit lumpier than multi's).

3. If I needed to do a clutchless change I use a method where the revs are fairly up and just before I change I back off the throttle slightly and then bring it back in again after the change of gears. :)

4. Clutch is there for a reason,if you want to pull mono,s then yeah,shift without engaging the clutch,otherwise,I would be using it.