Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Servicing costs/do I have a warped disc?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Deadsy, Nov 25, 2007.

1. Hey, can someone please help me out with the following:
    I was just quoted around $300-320 for the 6000km service on my GPX250. Does this sound right?

I also have a question regarding warped discs. When braking at slow speeds (pulling up to red lights etc), my front brake constantly grabs and releases. The bike dips etc, as if I am constantly grabbing and releasing the brake lever even though I am not. Sometimes, provided it's quiet enough, I can hear a scraping sound while the bike is rolling slowly.
    Because I am a noob I did some reading and searching and decided it must be a warped disc. I took my bike to the same dealer and asked them to have a look and confirm whether it is warped or not, they had a quick look and said yes it is. I'm up for a $200 new disc, so with the service it's going to be close to $600. :(
    The thing that is bugging me though is that apparently when the disc is warped you should feel something through the brake lever too? I can't say I do, in fact I just tested it out and I didn't feel a thing. The lever doesn't move, even when I am braking and the front brakes are grabbing and releasing.
    One final thing is that when I let go of the bars sometimes they start shaking, I just thought I'd mention this because it might mean something to someone, especially concerning the warped or not warped issue.
    My bike has 6000km on it. The dealer said it could have happened if I moved the bike with a disc lock still attached. This has happened once, back when I first got the bike.