Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Service Newbie, Yamaha SRV250

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by loader, Jul 11, 2005.

1. :D
    Hi, great to find this forum, hope someone can lend a little advice,
    I've just hit the dilemma of major service on my little SRV250 (1998 Renassia version)

A combination of poverty and dissatisfaction with bike shops has me considering doing my own service. I am pretty mechanically minded but a total novice on motorcycles. I figure the 250 v twin on my bike can't be that hard to service with the right manual and tools.

My bike is due for it's 12500km service (oil, valve clearances, filters, tune up, etc)
    I definitely think it needs the valve clearances done as there is some vibration and a little knocking coming from the motor as it's been ridden very hard.

My questions are:

-Am i totally mad, and should I just bite the bullet and get a shop to handle it? :shock:

-Does anyone know what is involved with checking the valve clearances and tuning up my bike? I think it's the same sort of motor as a yamaha virago 250 with slightly different heads.

-Does anyone know where I can get a SRV250 workshop manual or general shop manual?

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm off the road until I can get the service completed!

2. :D

Cheers guys!!! Already 1/2 the way there, just downloaded the Virago XV250 manual form the stickied link at the top of the page! Now I've just got to figure out the bits that apply to my rig!
  3. Loader

I've always serviced my car/bike myself (but then I've never had a brand new bike/car). The filters/valves/idle adjustment is easy on the v twin - i can post a copy of the manual for the XV250 if you want - i think it'll be much the same as your bike.