Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Selecting leathers for the racetrack

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by ozmotorcycleleathers, Jan 26, 2012.

1. My partner Irena, wrote this for the nswrats forum. It's not the be all and end all of leathers, but hopefully some people may find it useful.

I seem to spend a lot of time these days discussing leathers with Ed. We both often say "People need to educate themselves about leathers" so I put this together just to cover some basic points.

Most of you know, I've been a garment technician all my life and exclusively repairing and altering riding gear for three years now. I get pretty much every brand brought into the shop and also do insurance work as well as warranty issues for a couple of major suppliers.

It's not so important what brand people go for, but customers should be able to recognise what they're buying. Recent government testing found that one in four suits available on the market failed basic safety tests and I think this will only get worse with the recent flood of cheap suits on the market.

We don't need to discuss the benefits of one piece vs. two piece, leather vs. textile, benefits of race humps etc. We're all experienced and probably have a good idea already what to look for when selecting leathers, so I'll try and keep this to a few basic points.

Go with a brand that you believe to be reputable.
    Most of the big names in the business now outsource their production to places like China and Pakistan. While that usually means the quality isn't the same as it once was, most of their products are still fairly reliable.