Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Seeking a jackets in colours for greater visibility with car

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by nexus1111, Apr 5, 2009.

1. I'm a newbie. I still need to buy a helmet and the assorted safety gear. One of the best pieces of advice I got was to not wear black gear but get something brighter for visibility (particulary in grey Melbourne).

The problem is, everything is in black, or mostly black. I do see some black and red jackets, but where is the yellow and orange? My pushbike rain gear is yellow, so why are manufacturers limiting colour choices? Worst stil there seems to be the all pervading notion that just because I am female, I must love pink.... YUCK!

Any suggestions for good visible coloured jackets would be awesome. I am searching online, but obviously having personal recommendations would be gratefully received.
  2. [​IMG]

plenty around, just need to search
  3. Get a black jacket then go spend $5 on a Hi-Viz vest to throw over the top.
  4. Most motorcycles have their headlight hardwired to be 'on' when in use.
    If motorists can't see that, well then a fluro jackets etc won't register with them either.

Better to improve reflexes & observation skills etc. Because on a motorcycle you will always be invisable to the motorist that takes you out.

5. Debatable.

A headlight is far easier to lose in traffic than a bright coloured fluro vest.
  6. i'll quote the other half :p

i'd rather avoid a situation, or know how to get out of one, than simply hope that car about to hit me has seen me, thats for sure!

i could look like an oompa loompa and i dont think it would make me any safer on the road :LOL: