Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Securing your Bike

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Chief, Jul 24, 2006.

1. I am new to bike riding and so far when I go somewhere the bike never gets too far from my sight. What do you do to make sure your bike will be there when you get back? What's practical enough to use each time you park? I know if someone REALLY wants your bike they will get it but that's what insurance is for.

2. Probably some form of wire leash that can go around a light pole and attach to your bike.
  3. I'm lucky in that my baby is always parked just outside the window at work. I can keep a fairly close eye on her all day.

Otherwise, a Disk Lock is good. Just don't forget to take it off when you go to leave.
  4. my CB250, when I'm at work I park it in a car park. while it is insured for more than I paid for it, I really don't want to lose it & feel a car park is safer than the street. At home it's chained to a pillar on the car port. otherwise, if i have to park on the street, I just always remember to turn on the steering lock.

The hornet is another matter - when I start riding it, I will be buying a disk lock.
  5. securing your bike... will its a pet love of mine living near a bogan pub with no garage. In essence its all about making your bike look harder to steal than the nice new shiney one next to you.

Well Step 1 fit a jaycar alarm or any alarm... dead easy nice an loud and chirps at people like a neurotic finch if they get too close. $70 I wish I had fitted this sooner, once fitted give it a good long blast so everyone knows its alarmed now.

Step 2 Get one of these and weave it in and around your front wheel so it wont turn: