Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Second Bike Discussion

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Clayt0nB, Jan 28, 2014.

1. Hey all, just wondering about your thoughts and opinions on the following:

I currently have a CBR250R, love it, I ride it every day. ~ 50 Kay's a day including highway riding.

Now, I get off my restrictions soon so I am still fairly new to riding and I am thinking about what to get when I get my full license...

Obviously I want a supersport 600, gsxr or cbr are at the top of the list but I don't think that is the sensible idea. So I have been looking at something more sports touring like a fz6r or maybe a stripple? Should I be sensible? Am I overestimating a supersport? I do have my whole life ahead of me to ride, I am very much into the progression side of things and am keen to keep learning so what sort of step should I take?

Keep in mind I'm 19 and I have a lot of temptation but don't want to kill myself. Hence trying to get something more exiting but slightly tamer.

Anyway, just a discussion, interested in your experience and thoughts.

• Like Like x 1
  2. Blimey............ a 19 yo with common sense?

Sure the fazer wouldn't be a bad option - be cheaper on the insurance too. Quite honestly anything will feel like a quick bike after that 250
  3. Haha cheers, yeah I know I should take some test rides but by almost off restrictions I mean a month.

Was looking at something like cbr500r but I am keen to get something out of the lams market.
  4. Check out the cost of insurance for various models. At 19, that may very well decide the issue for you.
    • Agree Agree x 1