Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by jerrycl, Jan 2, 2007.

1. I'm a newbie returning to bikes after many years not riding. Now have a ZRX1200R and have been looking at accessories/mods etc...

I just got a price on a Corbin Gunfighter (carbon fibre embossed leather) seat for a ZRX1200R - US$427 landed in Aust (AUD538). To my mind this is a Hell of a lot of money for a bike seat - though they appear to be highly recommended by guys on the ZRXOA forum. One reason the price is so high is because of the freight to Australia at around US$100. I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas on something I could source locally that is still comfortable?

Already ordered a fork brace for the bike and some mirror extenders from one of the guys on the ZRXOA list. But another piece of gear I'm considering is a Scotts Steering Damper - again, looks like I'll have to bring this in from the US. I know these aren't the cheapest alternative, but strikes me as being more crash-proof than a kit using a gixxer damper. Appreciate any ideas on this also.

The fork brace and damper, I've been thinking, are justified on safety/handling grounds. The seat - at the price of the Corbin I will probably end up suffering with the stock unit (it only gets uncomfortable after 40 mins or so).

Any ideas welcome.
  2. Jerry no being a smart asp here but tell me why you feel you need a aftermarket seat. 40mins is a problem with you not the seat. Then the answer will come.

Going by the another things mentioned I expect you ride hard and fast in the twisties or high speed sweepers.