Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Seating height

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by GsXr600, Mar 28, 2006.

1. I have just purchased a 2004 suzuki gsxr600, the deliema i have is that when i get on i have to be on tippy toes as i am not the tallest of people however i can stand and hold the bike no problem.

I was wondering if there is a way to make the seat height lower as to be able to put both feet on the ground without being on tippy toes.

2. I am no expert in this area, but you might have to:

1. get riding boots that make you taller (I've been told that there are such boots apparently)

2. change bike settings (even replace tail riser)
  3. I'll swap bikes. I'm sure youll fit the GPX ;)
  4. You can get the seat retrimmed (cut) lower but it will be less comfortable.
    You could also get the dog bones changed to lower the height of the bike, but that will definitely have an effect on the handling characteristics. Other than that, have you tried lowering the preload as far as it'll go?
  5. mate im in the same boat
    and if its about parking the bike and then moving it later on i have found the solution...
    look for the right parking spot first before parking the bike
    thats what i do all the time and then its easy to move back out....

where abouts are u mate?

6. where abouts can i lower the preload of the bike.

im in Sydney
  7. /// The serious answer is further down ///