Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Scooter to LAMS motorbike transition

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by mark59, Feb 11, 2012.

1. Howdy all,

here's the thing - I am a noob on two wheels at a tender 52.5 years (why did I wait so frickin' long??).

I commute 50k in and and out from Eltham to Parkville - going to work has never been such a blast.

I've got 4500 ks up now on my TGB 101r 150cc. Its light, thin (<700 mm) and slices the carpark I ride through each day like a wicked dream. It'll go 95kpm if I ask nicely and has just enough pluck to get me off the line and away from the Heidelberg Road Grand Prix red light grid. So, what's the problem?

Well, the el cheapo Taiwanese scoot is made from tin cans and sticky tape and I suspect will be a heap 'o rust by winters end. Plus I am riding the wheels off the thing and I know that I am going to find the limit of its limited performance very soon. Hence, my interest in the what's next. I guess I could look at a better scoot such as the Aprilia Sportcity Cube 300. It has similar non-latte sipping, angular features as the TGB, is light, thin and packs a whallop with its EFI Quasar engine.

But....

Its still a scooter and I guess I just want a motorbike - and I am sure I don't need to explain that to you lot! Blame it on Brando and McQueen.