Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

scooter braking technique

Discussion in 'Scooters' at netrider.net.au started by oldmick, Feb 27, 2008.

1. As a newbie, I'm reading up on all I can find on riding technique, particularly the Tips threads here. Safety-wise, braking technique seems to be pivotal (der...)

My question: are there any significant differences between good braking technique on a scoot compared to a bike? I'll mostly be riding in commuter traffic, with a little bit of highway fun after she (and I) are run in.

For what it's worth, I'll soon be riding a Vespa GT200, with the following specs:
    Front Tyre: 120/10 x 12
    Rear Tyre: 130/70 x 12
    Front Suspension: Single sided fork with hydraulic shock absorber and coil spring
    Rear Suspension: Twin dual action shock absorber with adjustable preload
    Front Brakes: 220mm disc brake
    Rear Brakes: 220mm disc brake
    Dry Weight: 138Kg

2. You can't downshift with a scooter, so think ahead. 80% front, 20% back and in corners only the back brake..
    And try , try , try emergency braking...

3. Also brace your feet solidly on the foot panel to help take the load
    off your arms. If you lock up your arms trying to hold up your body,
    the front wheel will not be able to follow the road nor grip as well.
    You should aim to have your elbows slightly bent and arms relaxed.

4. More details please.. esp for newbies. I have tried to take all my braking technique info from geared MC tips.. but its not the same so I just dont use brakes in corners much, I try to get the speed correct before the corner, if I am wrong I lean more! I am using all the tyre. My tyres have 3 inch walls but i notice that sports bikes have something like only 1 inch walls, can I get tyres like that for a Skoot?