Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Safest Gear?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by ltflippy, Apr 20, 2011.

1. Hi All
    I have been riding for 3 years now virtually everyday. I am looking at upgrading my saftey gear as some if it is getting worn out. I have already done my helmet. However I want some advise on jacket and pants.

So my first set of jeans were Shift jeans yet they tore in the wash and as a result i have lost confidence in them. So I am choosing between Hornee jeans or maybe a textile set? Value for money which is safer and better value?

With Jackets i like leather, I like the look of the Shift ones but given my experience with the jeans i am a little apprehensive, are they any good or is alpine star or dainese better? Overall i am looking for saftey then fashion then cost...
  2. Have a look at The Good Gear Guide

It's probably the best guide on the sort of gear you need to look for and how to tell good from bad.

It was funded by the Commonwealth Dept of Infrastructure under the auspices of the Motorcycle Safety Consultative Committee, and written By Liz de Rome with support from the Australian Motorcycle Council.

It gives generic advice on what to look for rather than specific brands.
  3. You should send a PM to Takamii about jeans. Everyone is raving about the quality and comfort. Apparently they are only between $100-$140. Plus you would be supporting a brother. Your choice, but it would be worth a look.

I think at the moment best to buy jacket's and helmets online. Check out Revzilla, they do video reviews on gear, which might be helpfull.
  4. Have a good look at www.motoport.com - it's seriously tough textile gear.

The Kevlar mesh stuff is great for street riding.