Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

RWC costs and providers?

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' at netrider.net.au started by FriendlyFire, Sep 30, 2011.

1. So I'm new to Melbourne and will be needing an RWC pretty soon. The Vicroads website is terribly unhelpful at saying where you can get your bike RWCed and how much those places cost (This list only tells you where RWCs are done, not if they're bike specific.)

So:
    Is it safe to assume any bike workshop will do an RWC inspection?
    Are the car places in the above list also required to do motorcycle RWCs and, if so, do they have any idea what they're doing?
    Any ideas on range of costs?

cheerio!

2. Where in Melbourne? It's a pretty big place...then someone can recommend you some places close to your vicinity.

Raceway Suzuki in Niddrie (9351 0055) and 60 Degrees in Clayton (9562 6603) both do RWC.

3. RWC is simply a prescribed "check-list" which must be performed.
    Whether said check-list is performed or not is another question.
    As the customer all you need to register the bike is the WRC stamped by a licensed inspector/tester.

The cert will cost you ~$100 + any labour and parts (if required)

Hope this is the answer you were looking for

4. So it is! I'm in Preston/Kingsbury, near La Trobe uni.

It's seriously a hundred dollars? In Brisbane there was a guy who comes to you for that amount.

5. I paid $65 I think at Raceway Suzuki

6. I paid about $90 for my last one from Ace Motorcycle Wreckers on Bell St (not far from you).

7. To answer my own question, I contacted a few.
    Among them was Urban Moto in Brunswick who wanted $150 (?!).
    I ended up going to Ace like jack_1313 suggested, and they charged $88 and were quite helpful sourcing the part I needed to pass.