Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

RVF400 vs New 659 Monster

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Suds, Sep 19, 2011.

1. Hey guys, so this is my first post here on netrider.

I've been riding for about 6 months now and have recently been whacked with a 3 month on the spot suspension, I have decided to use this time to sell my current bike a 2010 VTR250 and look for either a 1996 RVF400 with a tyga fairing kit or the new ducati 659 monster. The reason I am leaning towards one of these bikes is A. The Ducati is in my opinion, a bigger badder version of my current VTR, I really like the styling on the ducati and do like naked bikes, as for B. My mate rides an RVF and I love the feel of the bike, its nice and low with a sporty seating position which I believe is hard to find for a 6ft+ rider, and looks badass.

The main reason i want to upgrade is I'm sick of having to plan ahead 30 seconds to overtake a corolla on the m7, I don't want a weapon just a bit more power and a bigger framed bike, if anyone has any info or is a previous rider of similiar bikes such as the 696 that can go into a bit more detail with either of these bikes that would be great, cheers!

2. Considered the CB400? Naked, newer than the RVF with pretty decent poke.
  3. I definitely have, the seating position is a little upright for my liking though, like the vtr, I even have flat dragbars with a slight pullback and still don't like it. I'm definitely much more comfortable on a sportier bike.
  4. These are very different bikes. One a 20 year old 4 cylinder and the other a new 2 cylinder. You probably need to work out what your priorities are on Reliability, Purchase Price, Torque vs Power, Maintenance costs, Parts availability.