Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Running wide twice on the Q-ride day

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' at netrider.net.au started by BlueMonkey, Jul 2, 2012.

1. Hey everyone,

I've just done my Q-ride and got my certificate of competency last Saturday. Can't wait to get to the dept of transport today to get my RE licence. \\:D/

On Saturday, we (the instructor and 3 of us doing Q-ride) finished the day at about 2pm and decided to continue with a social ride since we've got couple of hours to spare. So, we decided to head up to Springbrook, Gold Coast.

We were enjoying the sunny day and making our way up the mountains. Being a total noob myself it was a fun but also challenging experience (the other 2 guys have been riding for a while and just decided to get their licence). There were a few slow corners just at the side of the cliff. Naturally I was paying a little attention to the maybe 100 feet drop beside me while I was doing a slow left. So, no surprise that I ran wide passed the double line almost to the centre of the oncoming lane. :eek:hno:

Luckily for both occasion there was no oncoming traffic. The anxiety level inside me just kept building and then I had a cramp in my left arm (maybe partly due to the cold wind). My instructor noticed the incidences and decided to pull over and we had a rest. The rest of the ride was great without any more close call.

Although I'm getting my licence today but I do know I still need a lot more practice and experience. Also, I want to take the opportunity here to give a big round of applause to the guys at TopRider, Nerang for all their patience and coaching. I will definitely get back to you guys for more courses and recommend to my mates in the future. (y)

Have a nice day and ride safe.