Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

RPMs & gear changes

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by nooneuknow, Apr 12, 2005.

1. Hi all,
    well we (me and the baby) went out again tonite, and shes jst awesome :)
    shouldve done this sooner!
    but have some Q's - cos im still learning! have been reading the posts - what does 'redline' refer to...?? i know when u drive a manual car, the higher u rev, the more torque you can get from the engine, but i also notice that the RPMs go waaay higher on the bike (ie, in my little suzuki hatchback, i hardly go past 4-4500rpms before changing)
    how high do u usually rev to change gears, and between which gears (eg. 1-2, 2-3, 3-4).
    thanks all! :)

2. You'll find a comfortable point in each gear range where the bike just seems happy to putter along; but to be more specific... for standard riding (ie. just cruising around) you wouldn't really need to go past 50% of your redline. For getting around 'quickly' you might wanna take it up to 60-70%. If your going hell for leather then 100% all the way.

To put that into perspective on a ZZR, I'd be taking it to about 7000 for normal riding, 10,000 for brisk, and 15,500 (thats redline on the ZZR/GPX right?) for as quick as your gonna get.

Be nice to your little 2fiddy, but be sure to give her a good fanging once in a while.
  3. good question, I've been ridding for 4 months now... I change up when I feel the engine's power is flat or I hear that it's reving too hard... Dunno, it's something you develop over time / once you get to know your bike more, you'll have a feel for where the power is in the rev range...

Having said that, my brother in-law says he'll never buy a car / bike from me, I rev them too hard...