Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

rock climbing

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by roundabout, Nov 3, 2005.

1. anyone here climb?

where do you go?
    what sort of climbing do you do?
    what gear do you recommend (top rope rack and begginer/intermediate)
    any gear you've found really good/bad?

looking for info/suggestions to get a rack together
  2. A rope is a good start! lol

Seriously though I've been climbing for around 18 years now. that doesn't make me very good, however.

Been pretty slack the last few years. Did some indoor a few months ago and almost busted my poofer valve!

What state are you in?
  3. vic, haven't really been on rock since i was a teenager, just climb/boulder once or twice a week at cliffhanger. but i am getting sick of that and want to get out there. i think indoor is spoiling me as well (i.e. can't pick a route now without coloured holds)

i'd love to try ice climbing, but that will have to wait until next year when i'm actually living somewhere that it snows
  4. A state of severe shock that you have a "poofer" valve.
    I've heard of the "foofer" valve before, but yours is much more sinister.
  5. I can't help must with the victorian scene, but it seems like a pretty freindly community. How should be able to post for a climbing partner on a climbing gym notice board.

You can do a fair bit top rope. for that you need a rope (10- 11mm static), some slings, to tie around trees and rock, a few bolt plates, some screw-gate crabs and some sort of belay device. If you select carefully you can get one that doubles as an abseil device.

That is a good gear starting point. You can build a lead rack from there depending on how keen you are. After that it depends on how much of a gear junky you are.