Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Road Vs Track?????

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Sirian Sun, Apr 15, 2009.

1. The Coldstream thread has sparked a lot of discussion as to what is safe, what is negligent, what is and isnt within a riders capability etc...

So as a newbie my question to each of you is what do you find acceptable on the road and when do you draw the line and say no, that is for the track only. What circumstances are ok and which are an absolute no no?

BE WARNED - I am asking for your opinions here and they are going to differ. Anyone who resorts to personal attacks is going to have a hex put on their bike! I am not posting this to generate controversy, rather a genuine desire to understand all your varying view points.

2. Anything I can get away with, on the road, is safe.
    On the track, it's much the same :grin:

I don't pretend to be perfect, like others here :)
  3. That's something every rider has to decide for themselves, whether it be well above or well below the limits set, ride your own pace and be confident in your own judgement.

Ride faster than your pace, and it'll end in tears. Ride slower, and you'll get bored and antsy. The leaders never have to wait that long at the end of the road, you're responsible for your own safety and amusement, and nothing anyone else says means shit.
  4. on the road i don't push myself to find my max limit, i test that out on the track, with practice what was once my max limit is now more my general riding pace/ability, but really on the road, if i can't see i won't go :wink: