Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Road Trip

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Charlie4, Mar 19, 2005.

1. Hi everyone!

I just thought I'd put a rather general question out there and see what you guys are all about. I'm just getting into this whole bike scene and am interested in doing a road trip from somewhere to somewhere else...it doesn't really matter from, or where I go - I just had an erge the other day that a road on trip on bike would be great.

Now don't get me wrong, I'm not riders arse-hole but the whole bike concept sounds good to me. You see I got back a year ago from touring around the States, Canada and Mexico for 18 months in a van and loved just being on the open road, so I feel it's a natural progression to want to do it on a bike back here in Oz and see some of our country.

So my question is, What sort of bike should I start looking for? Now lets get a few things straight, I'm not a millionaire so I was thinking of something around $5000. I actually want some kind of an older bike that I can care for and nurse along the way, a reliable and strong bike. If someone has any ideas and would like to share them with me, I would be very greatful.

Thanks for your time.
    Charlie

Okay, well thanks for all your replys. So here's some more information.
    This is going to be an ongoing project and I don't plan to take off for about 18 months. This will give me time to save up, get my full licence and get the bike that is just right. Oh, and from Victoria.

I'll be after an old reliable bike that is strong and powerful enough to carry quite a load. I was also thinking about something that could cope well in the outback.