Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding with strong wind.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by SX2BU, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Hey guys,
    So i'm still new to riding and i went for a ride up to Whittlesea today. I wasn't aware how windy it was, but i though "how bad could it be"

So i'm riding around, holding on, getting smashed by the wind. I was riding directly into it, and it hit me left and right and i could really feel the bike getting pushed through the lane.

Any tips on how to handle this? I noticed easing off the throttle when the wind pushed helped a little, but i donno how useful that will be with traffic behind you, already pissed off because you're riding slower than the speed limit (like i was at the time).

2. As bad as this sounds I just let the bike move around under me. Within reason of course. Seems to work on the freeway, not sure if it is the right thing to do, but as long as the bike stays well within the lane I'm happy.

3. ^^^ +1

Grip your tank with your knees, keep your arms relaxed and let the bike move under you (keeping it within your lane)

Slow down and ride to the conditions and your experience level

• Agree Agree x 1
  4. try squeezing your knees into the tank and only lightly hold the grips, so basically use your legs to lock yourself on the bike and relax your grip, your arms and elbows so that you can be more effective with your steering. This takes a while to learn, because when you're nervous you naturally tighten your grip and tense up your arms through to your shoulders...keep telling yourself to relax and say it aloud rather than just thinking it.

5. yeah i think i did the opposite of that haha.
    Don't think i could've held on tighter if i tried. :p