Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Featured Riding up and down hill theory

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Minority153, Apr 30, 2015.

1. Hiya guys,

So as you all know, I'm a noob, just over a week on my learner's. And while I'm still practising the basics, I've been trying to wrap my head around gear changes and braking for riding uphill and downhill.

Now, as mentioned, it's just me thinking about it, not planning to tackle anything too big for me at the moment, I'm sensible ;-)

So just be kind enough to explain the theory of how to ride up and down Hills, particularly steep, with regard to gear changing and braking, and please use absolute layman language, I'm still wrapping my head around bikie talk too.

Thanks in advance! :)

• Like Like x 1
  2. High gears are fast but lack power. So if you go up a hill too steep the bike will struggle. So you need to drop down gears so that you have the power to climb the hill. Going down hills you also want to use lower gears so that it slows the bike down without braking. Down hill corners can be a bit tricky if you dont drop gears because your bike will start speeding up and using the brakes will stand you up so it's easier to control your bike with a lower gear and the throttle.

• Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 1
  3. You're way overthinking this. Just get to keeping upright and getting good at balance, starting and stopping without falling over, gear changes etc on the flat. Once you are competent in these disciplines you won't even worry about hills.

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1