Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding skills

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Wolverine, Aug 4, 2006.

1. HI i'm a newbie rider. i just had my first ride on the freeway 4:00pm peak hour traffic.
    i was just cruising on my bike like every other vehicle in traffic. there were at least 3 bikes that just lane split and made their way through the congestion.

i'm a bit of a timid rider. But i guess i'll just get used to it and be able to read traffic and so forth .. in time.

anyways what i really want to ask is

What is the technique for heavy traffic riding? eg. lane splitting and looking for openings. flashing headlights?
    what do you guys do to keep things safe?

2. take it slow and just look out for lane changers!
  3. hi wolverine- i'm a fairly new rider too, for the first month or so I just rode the bike like it was a car, stopping all the time in peak hour, never splittin etc.
    One day a month or so in to the daily commute, the gap between lanes was big enough for me to feel comfortable splitting down- haven't looked back since!
    Now split most of the time when the traffic is crawling and the gap is decent... also depends on the road.

Learnt my lesson on princess hway, those lanes are skinny, no room for me and a bike there :oops: (may have clipped a mirror... felt like a knob... was a knob thing to do) :oops:
  4. Hey Wolverine. Welcome to the forum.