Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding on the dirt?

Discussion in 'Adventure/Enduro' at netrider.net.au started by Krollinator, Jun 28, 2012.

1. So I've been riding for all of four months now, and I've been told by several people that learning skills on the dirt helped them on the road with bike control (sliding around and stuff). I've also got a few mates with 4x4's who would be interested in coming out to the tracks and such shenanigans.

My question is, does anyone know where to get cheap dirt bikes? I'm talking like, cheap cheap. Like, uni student cheap. I don't even know if it's possible to get cheap cheap bikes, but I figure there is no harm in asking the question.

I definitely want to keep my road bike, and I have a van so I can transport any sort of dirt bike so it doesn't need to be registerable.

Anyone got any ideas? Or if this is even plausable or whether this is just something I should wait until I can actually afford something!

Thanks!

2. Ebay is your best bet I reckon. Seems to have most of the cheaper bikes there.

For types of bikes, go for some simple aircooled thing I reckon cuz low risk and eaay to look after. Like an old yamaha tt.

Cool bananas.

3. Keep an eye out for an old DT175. Get historic rego on it and you can put around toolangi to your hearts content!

4. building a 78 DT178 project at the moment ;)

5. Ive been looking round for the same thing. Plenty of cheap chinese bikes on ebay, you can get and ADR approved 200-250cc bike for $2500k and there are some 250cc pit bikes on there for $800 you could prob get rec reg. Personally I'd look for a cheap japanese kx, dt, xr or cr as you can't go wrong with an 80/90's jap bike it will run for ever.

6. bit too much of an ag bike,