Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding on new tyres

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Nug-Nugget, Jun 7, 2013.

1. Hey all,

It will be time to pick up my new bike soon and I keep hearing about how slippery it is on new tyres. There are a couple of vids on youtube where people crash their bikes leaving dealerships, pretty funny but I don't want it to happen to me. I know there have been experienced riders who have been caught out by new tyres and I'm still a noob so I'm a little worried. It's winter too so it will be cold and possibly rainy on the day I pick up my bike. I'm going to be as careful as possible, and try to only accelerate and brake when the bike is pointing straight but I probably won't be able to do that all the way home. Is there any advice people can give me? What to be careful of? How many kms will the tyres stay slippery for? Thanks all.

2. probably want to take it easy for the first 150 - 200km or so just to play it safe. The other thing (and this may seem obvious) is that during the scrub in period, the more you lean, the more shiny, unscrubbed rubber you'll be using so keep that in mind when you first head out to the twisties - take the first few corners carefully and gradually lean rather then throw it into the corners till you've scrubbed the edges (or as close to) as well.

congratz on the new bike. what did you get?

3. Been there done that. Just take it easy for the first few kms. Viscera99 is spot-on

The first corner I took on new tyres after the bike was delivered was steep down hill, greasy patches, tight 90 deg. Rear snaked around like Casey Stoner at the end of a 320kmh straight (me doing probably 10kmh). Nearly dropped it. Shiny bike new bike, shiny new tyres.