Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding motorcycle with backpack safe?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by WantFreedom, Mar 9, 2015.

1. Hi Guys,

As most of you know I'm only a learner been riding for a month I wanted to know if this is safe or not seeing I'm only learning.

I was going to ride my motorbike to tennis on Thursday night I have never ridden with a backpack, basically its just a standard sports backpack not a specialty motorcycle one it won't be heavy just carry a couple of tennis rackets, pair of shoes, bottle of water and shorts and t shirt? I will be riding about 10-15km

One other thing I will be riding home in the dark and I have never ridden in the dark so there is two things I will be doing unfamiliar with me would they make much of a difference in regards to riding my motorbike ?

Thanks

2. Riding a motorcycle is not safe. If you can accept that, adding very slightly to the risk with what you are carrying is not a big jump. I might draw the line at sharp metal objects though.
    I've carried many a load in a backpack but these days I'm inclined to put it in a top box purely for comfort.

3. No worries re pack, but as titustitus suggests maybe don't dump your loose tools or knife collection loose in one.

Re night riding, just do what you normally do, just a bit slower. Like driving a car at night. Make sure you're not using a tinted visor (duh). And don't stare into oncoming lights, look where you're going.

It's not a long ride so relax and enjoy.

4. I can't stand carrying a backpack on my shoulders. So I strap one to the bike.