Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding in the Wet

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by turnipcorp, Aug 17, 2007.

1. I have been riding for 14 months now. About 2 months ago i dropped my scooter on dry road with a wet strip down the middle and maybe oil...there was no friction to the slide.

Thing is now i have a new bigger bike that i am unsure od to start with........i am terrified of leaning in the wet or on damp roads.

Is there any tips you guys have for riding on damp roads ior in light rain...i dont care too much riding in the about pissing rain...but damp slick roads scar the shit out of me

2. slow down a tad, and lean further off the bike than normal - this has the effect of keeping the bike more upright, so more tyre traction is available for cornering
  3. +1 from what duff said.

Also if your really worried get some wet weather tyres/really good soft compand tyres, Im running PP's and can get down pretty low in wet weather. Also avoid really fast/aggressive movements and smooth everything out.
  4. So when leaning in to the corner...keep my body more upright? and push the bike into the lean underneath me?

5. No no no, get off the side of the bike more and keep the bike upright.
  6. Ok i'll give it a try...in the dry first!

ta mate
  7. +1, maybe it could have been your scooter tyres? alittle to naked?

i havn't had any real problems in the rain so far(knock on wood) but i had noticed that it gets really hard to see white riding in the rain, they should invent some visor wipers or something lol
  8. You need to get over your drop...It's holding you back from riding confidently and could actually cause you to have another accident!