Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding in the wet

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by RedRobbo, Oct 12, 2012.

1. Hi guys and girls just wanted to ask some of you more experienced riders about how you approach the cornering in wet and raining conditions. I have taken on advice from Doug about more gently rolling of the throttle, I guess I'm just a little concerned about sliding or washing out. I have read how slippery white lines are and oil or diesel left on the road as well. I am a newbie so any comments or advice would be appreciated. Cheers Rob :biker:.

2. There's heaps of advise about riding in the wet in the New Riders and Riding Tips forum...

I just got home from riding through the storm. 2 - 5km under the speed limit, buffer of 2ish car lengths- rode thru the middle of the speed markings on the road (not enough space to the side - too much camber) - started decelerating twice the distance it takes to stop in the dry for red lights- slow off the hop - upright as possible through corners - between the ped crossing lines and I was home.

Maybe practice wet riding in a car park or cul-de-sac if you're not sure how your bike reacts in the wet? You've got to know your bike (y)

Edit: Sorry, you have to factor in wind as well -hopefully someone will come along and explain things for bigger bikes, since mine feels like I'm riding a hyperactive BMX :)