Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riding in Cobaw State forest

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Muppet, Aug 22, 2015.

1. Just after a little info on riding in Cobaw state forest.

Just bought my self a husky and was looking at going to Cobaw tomorrow if the weather is as good as it was today.

Now as im VERY new to riding dirt bikes and have already injured my self on my husky cos im an over confidant fool lol, Im looking for an easy day, Just get out and about really.

So i was just curious as to whats its like there. Something a new rider could handle? im a little worried after the rain we have had over the past month is might be a bit of a wet, rocky s*** fight and as im still sporting a slightly injured shoulder it might get a little hard.

Also any recommendations on trails to take in the area or is it the sort of place i can just cut sick and explore?

was not really able to find alot of info on google that helped. Been to DEPI website and found some info.

but nothing really specific.

Any info would be great,

2. i went there in the dry with a klx250 with 100% street tires, so yes a newbie can easily have fun. just cut sick and explore. avoid the farm fields which are fenced off, the locals hate bikes in there.
  3. Hey MuppetMuppet, I grew up around the corner from the Cobaw State Forest and spent many many days tearing that up.
    Here are 12 things I've come up with that should keep you safe enough!
    1. Watch out for kangaroos, they are hard to see and really hurt if you hit em. If you don't see any, you're lucky, they are there... always there, lurking
    2. The whole area is a mega-old volcanic zone and there is Granite Rock all over the place watch out for rocks