Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

riding at night

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by jecaspa, May 23, 2007.

1. hey guys i need to ask for some opinions. my parents don't want me riding at night cause i'm a noob just seein if u's can offer some advice for a newbie riding at night time and what are some extra dangers??
    THANKS

2. The biggest danger is that your visibility drops, and you can't see as far ahead, just go a bit slower and you'll be right. Other possible additional dangers include animals, animals and more bloody animals, although you'll mostly find them at dusk/dawn sort of periods...

3. Pot holes, and other vechiles using the road should be easier to see (if there is street lights and your head lights are fine), don't ride in line with other cars head lights/brake lights people wont see you and watch out for animals about to enter the road space.

If you can avoid contact with a animal open your bike right up and use it as a jump.

I find riding at night to be some what safer because you can see cars coming around corners and out of side streets so it gives you more time to prepare for it.

And what the above said.

4. Advice - DON'T!!!

Dangers - IT"S DARK!!!

Nah, get out there. Just make sure you have plenty of reflective stuff on ya. The lights on your bike are just going to blend into the surrounding light sources, unless you're alone on an open road.

Remember, ride like no one can see you and you'll keep yourself safe!

Pooh out!

5. oh, and the glare from oncoming cars, especially in the rain at night, can make it pretty difficult to see where the lane is and anything in front of you.