Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Riders Vs Drivers and a general ramble about roadcraft

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Glekichi, Sep 18, 2011.

1. I am quite new to riding real bikes but I do consider myself a fairly experienced driver for someone of my age. Got my licence here in Australia before moving to Japan where I worked as a courier truck driver for 5 years - commuting to that job on a 50cc scooter. I also drove, but not professionally, in the South Island of New Zealand for around 3 years when I lived there. I have also done more than my fair share of pushie riding on the roads of those three countries.

As I've been riding for such a short period I haven't had my first SMIDSY (SMIJDBL =D>) yet, but I know it will happen.

Christ - I even had someone pull out directly across my path at the very last second making a collision completely unavoidable IN THE BLOODY TRUCK!! Full emergency braking and I just clipped his rear quarter at 10km/h or so. This was only from about 30km/h but there was only 1-2 truck lengths when he pulled out almost underneath me it seemed! SMIDSY, he says in Japanese! Ha. He even came to a complete stop at the stop sign as required, so I don't know how he looked me in the eye and still didn't 'see' the truck, but had I not been fully alert I probably would have rammed the guy so hard I'd have near rolled him.

Now, as bikes and being possibly the least visible vehicles on the road, obviously it is going to happen more to us that someone somehow misses seeing us, and obviously the consequences of an accident are going to be a lot greater for a rider.

So ride defensively, etc., etc.

But my real point is - thats how you should have been driving prior to riding anyway!