Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Rider groups and representatives

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by Chillidog, Dec 22, 2013.

1. I've recently been reading random comments in threads about rider groups (particularly in the toy run thread).

Can someone give me a summary of the rider groups in Victoria, provide a link to their website and clarify if people are voted for by members of the group?

I know Jem & Robb are associated with VMC, but how do I join it?

I've seen on Facebook the IRG is asking people to join a collecting details (does that mean you become a member and have input)?

I know there is history with the groups, but I'm new to riding, don't understand the history, see things that piss me off and want to know the best way to get involved.

Thoughts?

2. Hi,

The VMC is a fully incorporated organisation that's members elect the committee.

You can see more here- http://victorianmotorcyclecouncil.org.au

While originally a club of clubs we now have individual membership as well. The link to join is on the site. The individual members will be able to select members to have voting rights at the elections.

IRG as far as I know is not an incorporated organisation at this stage and does not hold elections to select its committee. They do not appear to have a websites but seem to operate through Facebook. See here-
    https://www.facebook.com/IndependentRidersGroup

If you would like to know more about the VMC please feel fee to give me a call on 0400 119 628.

Cheers
    Jeremy Walton
    VMC Secretary

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. Thanks Jem.

Couldn't see the membership form for the life of me.

Will fill out the form and send my $5 tomorrow.