Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

RFVC tune up problem

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by t_mike, May 12, 2009.

1. I have a CBX 125 Custom that was never imported to Australia, in fact I don't think it was sold anywhere that has a language that uses our alphabet. This makes even the net a bit useless to find info. I'm a mechanic, but not a bike mechanic, and I am doing the work myself.

The bike has a twin cam/carb version of the Honda RFVC motor. My problem is this, anything over 1/3 throttle and the thing dies. I've cleaned out both carbs with carb cleaner and compressed air, and all looks as clean as. The carbs are operating progressively as they should, but I'm unsure if the opening point of the secondary is correct, with no tech info I have no factory settings available to me. Both sliders hit full throttle at the same time. I don't have the correct ignition box in it, but I don't see that as the problem, I've had it to 9000 rpm on a downhill with no misfire. It does feel like fuel starvation. If anyone has any experience with one of these family of motors with twin progressive carbs, and can offer any suggestions, it would be appreciated. The whereabouts of any tech info would be good too.

Thanks in advance,
    Mike.

2. With only a few visits, and no replies, I don't know if anyone is interested, but I'll keep updates going just in case.