Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Review: Stay Upright Advanced Skills Course

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by nathanh, Jul 22, 2007.

1. Today I attended the Advanced Skills course offered by Stay Upright. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

I've been riding only for a few months and although I vaguely knew what I was supposed to be doing, I've instead been doing "what worked" and it has been reinforcing some very bad habits. I almost never stopped in the ready position, I used the front brake all the time (even when turning), and all sorts of other things that were one day going to get me into trouble. I knew I was doing the wrong things but it was really difficult to change.

After completing the course today I could hardly believe how much I'd improved as I made my way home. Even simple things like stopping at the lights and accelerating away - which I thought I'd been doing fine - were much better. The course got me doing things the right way and it translated straight into a more enjoyable ride on the road.

The course starts off with 3 hours of theory. The instructors talked about proper techniques for braking, accelerating and cornering. They also talked about observation and planning so you can avoid bad situations. It wasn't rocket science - just common sense - but I kept kicking myself because all the things you shouldn't be doing, were exactly the things that I had been doing.