Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Rest in Peace ~ Lilly (Not a biking death)

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by huzey, Oct 21, 2006.

1. Just so people know, a few days ago. A girl called Lilly has killed herself due to stress from HSC exams. She was only 18 years old and had the rest of her life ahead of her...

I personally didn't know her, but I think this should be a big wake up call to parents who pressure their kids, or kids themselves that think HSC is the be all, end all.

Myself being a HSC student I can relate to this, it's just so tragic and I'm asking myself...why?

Best wishes to her family....

2. yeah... it's but one academic benchmark among many.

There are lots of very successful people who have never sat HSC, or gone on to further academic goals.

Sorry to hear (read) about this, life is to be enjoyed, esp @ 18.

(EDIT: Hey MODS, better move this to"off topic" I think)

3. :(

RIP Lilly.

18, and so cute. The world will surely miss her.
  4. Hey dude
    Im in the same (hsc) boat aswell.

I get quite stressed over it all sometimes. Actually on thursday i was *really* stressed and Charmed helped me out (thanks Charmed :grin: ). I spose for some people they just look at the HSC as the end of the world thing. Although its over the top - i can see where they are coming from (the hsc is very stressful) - but it is no reason to kill oneself.

Terrible loss to lose a girl under such terrible circumstances. :(

I have seen many people this year doing desperate things to get a high hsc mark. Most people think of the obvious (cheating etc) , but some things that i have seen this year sicken me. I'm not going into any more details about that *publicly*.

Condolences to family and friends
  5. Thanks for bringing this up huzey.