Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Removing bar ends

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by samu, Apr 17, 2011.

1. Hi there riders,
    I'm new to this (in fact any) forum, but require advice/ help

I'm trying to remove the solid, chrome covered bar ends off my Honda VTR 250, to install a new set of bar end mirrors, without much luck.

The issue i'm having is that they're really attached/ jammed in. There are no screws or any other fixture keeping them in place. They're simply a solid piece of steel, wedged into the end of the bar end.

What I've currently already tried to remove the left side bar end:

-I have tried multi grips
    -I have used a strap wrench
    -I have tried using a chisel in the tiny gap between the bar end and the bar.
    -I have tried using a screw driver and a hammer to gently tap it off the end of the bar
    -I have placed tape over the bar end (to stop the drill sliding off) and drilled into it, screwed a screw into the hole, and tried to tap it off. I had to continue resting, as it would overheat, and I'd have to apply water to cool the bar end
    -Hack sawed MOST of the bar end away.

Short of chewing the rest of the bar end off.... I'm out of ideas

...and this is only the first one!

2. unscrew anti-clockwise
  3. You sure of that?
    You might find they're actually the end of the bar itself.
    Edit: (although I wouldn't put it past Honda to do something as stupid as fit something which is virtually impossible for the owner to remove/replace).
  4. they're not shoved in, they screw in to a grommet that expands.
    the hole you've drilled, shove something strong, high tensile in that and use it as a lever to turn anti-clockwise, or tac weld a lever onto it.