Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

remote engine start

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by MrWasabi, Oct 19, 2007.

1. I have yet to purchase a bike. If all goes to plan i should have one by next week, but i am already thinking of mods (yes i know i should concentrate on learning to ride first)
    But really i just want to know the legality of this...

Parked next to a really nice bike, dont ask me what it was because i am just getting into the scene and i wouldnt know a moped from an R1.... but it was nice.

Up comes this guy from a distance, and with the press of a button, alarm turns off and the engine starts. By the time he suited up and put his helmet on, the engine was warm and off he went.

I thought that was kind of neat, but in the world of vehicles with 4 wheels, it is a no no in NSW. also if it is a manual you have to make sure it is in neutural so that it doesnt take off...

anyway, is a remote engine start system legal for bikes in NSW?

i did a search of this forum and couldnt find any previous conversation of this, which troubles me because i think my search skills have failed me

quick search on google, got me across some ebay sites, saw them going really cheap, like under $30...if some of you have these things installed could you please stear me in the right path as to what models i should stay away from?
  2. I dunno if it's legal or not, but if you've got a bike that can be started by a radio frequency, you're asking for it to be jacked if you ask me. Some electronics geek will start her up and ride into the sunset......... :(