Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Remember your near misses these days?

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by bdzy88, Mar 31, 2014.

1. So it has occurred to me looking through this sub-section of the forum, that comparatively the amount of netrider users vs the amount of threads in this section is very low.

I know personally, when I started riding every near miss would have me shaking and raging, yet it just seems like an every day occurrence that gets taken with a grain of salt as part and parcel of riding a bike.

Yet, we always seem to discuss the fact that 'they are always trying to get you'
    Seems to me that the general public are becoming more and more accepting of motorcyclists and cyclists, but i'm not sure whether it's to the credit of cycling bodies or our own motorcycling voice..

Would like to hear from new riders vs the 'forever' riders..

Anyway, it's been burning a hole in my brain..
  2. Near misses as a learner/noob happen more often because your roadcraft skills are lacking. You spend a good portion of your time trying to keep the bike from falling over and trying to remember to breath.

As your experience and hopefully skill increases so your near misses reduce.
    Basically, because you are now more skilled and experienced what was once a 'near miss' is now nothing more than "I knew he was going to do that".
    • Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 4
  3. I think that, far from becoming more 'accepting' of two wheelers, drivers are becoming less skilled and less attentive. But therefore also slightly less inclined to try and 'teach you a lesson' or assert their dominance.
    It's probably true that media attention has convinced some of them to avoid playing chicken with cyclists.
    • Agree Agree x 1